Media & archives

Student representatives in the health workgroups improve everyone's study environments!

10.10.2017

One of the central tasks of the Finnish Student Health Service (FSHS) is health promotion. Locally this health promotion work is organized through working groups, which include both representatives of the staff of the FSHS, students, university staff and other stakeholders.

The tasks of the health workgroups include identifying the phenomena in the study environment and study life that currently affect student health and developing cooperation opportunities between FSHS, the university and the students. Previously, the health workgroups have been involved in projects whose purpose was to reduce loneliness and sitting, to identify risk situations in studies or internships, and to support associations in the organization of alcohol-free events.

The health promotion of the students of the University of Helsinki is organized by two working groups, one for the faculties of the City Centre Campus and one for the faculties operating at Kumpula, Meilahti and Viikki Campuses. New student representatives for these working groups were appointed in May-June and they work during the period 1.9.2017-31.8.2019. The student representatives are happy to receive your thoughts or ideas about your own study environment!

Health workgroup 1 –
City Centre Campus

 

Email

 

Email

 

Member

 

Deputy member

 

Faculty of Arts

Juho Kajava

juho.kajava@helsinki.fi

Kaisa-Leena Rahikka

kaisa-leena.rahikka@helsinki.fi

Faculty of Educational Sciences

Minna Inkinen

minna.inkinen@helsinki.fi

Lovisa Hirvonen

loviiisa.hirvonen@gmail.com

Faculty of Law

Rita Härmälä

rita.harmala@helsinki.fi

Venus Mahmood

 

Faculty of Theology

Petra Harju

petra.harju@helsinki.fi

Emmi Virtanen

 

Faculty of Social Sciences

Laura Wathén

laura.wathen@helsinki.fi

Emilia Knaapi

emilia.knaapi@helsinki.fi

 

 

 

 

 

Health workgroup 2 – Meilahti, Kumpula, Viikki Campuses

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Faculty of Biological and Environmental Sciences

Ansku Holstila

ansku.holstila@helsinki.fi

Minna Silvennoinen

minna.silvennoinen@helsinki.fi

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Iina Leppänen

iina.m.leppanen@helsinki.fi

Maija Tiainen

maija.c.tiainen@helsinki.fi

Faculty of Pharmacy

Metti Sarmalinna

metti.sarmalinna@helsinki.fi

Nerdjusa Beciroski

 

Faculty of Medicine

Eeva Leivo

eeva.leivo@helsinki.fi

Ville Liu

villeliu@hotmail.com 

Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry

Tiia Kuronen

tiia.kuronen@helsinki.fi

Jenni Jääskeläinen

jenni.e.jaaskelainen@helsinki.fi

Faculty of Science

Anne Huhtasalo

anne.huhtasalo@helsinki.fi

Jessika Isomeri

jessika.isomeri@helsinki.fi

In addition to the health workgroups and on a broader level, a member of the board and a specialist at HYY’s central office is working with student health. Mikko Kymäläinen, the board member in charge of health affairs, is responsible for HYY policy. The specialist with responsibility for health, Sofia Lindqvist, is in charge of HYY’s representation in the decision-making bodies of FSHS and for making HYY’s policies come true in this context. You can also contact Lindqvist if you have experienced such issues associated with FSHS services, which could not be solved by direct contact with them.